Dissent in Left, Congress draws up nominee list for 51 more seats

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Kolkata
  • Updated: Mar 17, 2016 17:39 IST
The Congress staked claim to 94 seats. (AFP/Representative Photo)

Even as differences over seat sharing between Left Front partners and the Congress continued to cloud the fate of eight seats in South Bengal, the RSP and Forward Bloc on Wednesday refused to sacrifice any more for the sake of electoral understanding and the Congress sent a new list of 51 candidates to its central leadership for approval.

Prominent candidates in the Congress list were former PCC president Somen Mitra at Chowringhee, Abdul Mannan at Champdani, Krishna Debnath at Ballygunge and Deepa Dasmunsi at Bhowanipore — chief minister Mamata Banerjee’s constituency — in place of PCC general secretary Om Prakash Mishra whose name was announced earlier. With this, the Congress staked claim to 94 seats.

The CPI(M) decided to contest Habra, Khanakul and Bhatar. The RSP claimed Baranagar, while the Forward Bloc decided to challenge the Trinamool at Shyampukur in Kolkata. Also, the Front changed its candidate at Onda in Bankura and fielded Forward Bloc’s Manik Mukherjee. Front chairman Biman Bose said the Marxists would support independents at Nandakumar and Mahishadal and leave the Egra seat for the Bengal Socialist Party.

Local BJP leaders said state Mahila Morcha chief Roopa Ganguly could be fielded from Howrah. There was however no confirmation.

also read

After huge win, Mamata to start new term under mountain of debt
Show comments