DMK announces candidates for 9 Assembly seats in Puducherry | assembly-elections$puducherry-2016 | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DMK announces candidates for 9 Assembly seats in Puducherry

assembly elections Updated: Apr 23, 2016 16:10 IST
Highlight Story

DMK chief M Karunanidhi addresses at a press conference in Chennai. (PTI Photo)

DMK on Saturday announced the names of its candidates for nine Assembly constituencies in the Union Territory of Puduchery, renominating Karaikkal South MLA AMH Nazim among others.

DMK announced candidates for Muthialpettai, Mannadipattu, Urulayanpettai, Uppalam, Mangalam, Muthaliyarpettai, Karaikkal South, Thattanchavady and Neravi-Thiru-Pattinam.

It fielded A Geetha Anandan from Neravi-Thiru-Pattinam, where she lost to VMC Sivakumar, who had then fought as an Independent in last election.

He had recently joined AIADMK and is seeking re-election from the constituency.

As per the seat-sharing agreement between Congress and DMK, Congress will contest from 21 seats and DMK from nine.

Polling to 30 Assembly seats in Puducherry will be held on May 16.