Karan Avtar Singh takes over as new Punjab chief secretary | punjab | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Karan Avtar Singh takes over as new Punjab chief secretary

punjab Updated: Mar 16, 2017 18:02 IST
HT Correspondent
Karan Avtar

Punjab chief secretary Karan Avtar Singh.(HT File Photo)

Soon after swearing-in of the Captain Amarinder Singh government on Thursday, Karan Avtar Singh assumed charge as the new chief secretary of the state.

He will also be principal secretary, department of personnel, general administration and vigilance and principal secretary investment promotion. Outgoing chief secretary Sarvesh Kaushal has been appointed special chief secretary-cum-director general, Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration.

Also read | Punjab cabinet portfolios: Capt Amarinder keeps Home, Sidhu gets local govt

Also read | A house for Mr Badal: Five-time former CM goes house-hunting in Chandigarh

The Punjab government also transferred 12 other IAS officers with immediate effect.

Also read | The big, fat Patiala peg: Capt Amarinder, Mohindra, Sidhu top three in new Punjab cabinet

The new postings:

Himmat Singh: Special chief secretary, horticulture; special principal secretary, forests and wildlife

Karanbir Singh Sidhu: Special chief secretary, revenue and rehabilitation; special chief secretary, irrigation

Nirmaljeet Singh Kalsi: Additional chief secretary, home affairs and justice; additional chief secretary, agriculture, additional chief secretary, removal of grievances, principal commissioner (investment promotion and industrial liaison) Punjab Bhawan, New Delhi, and additional chief secretary governance reforms.

Satish Chandra: Additional chief secretary, finance; additional chief secretary, pensions and welfare of pensioners’ wing, principal resident commissioner, Punjab Bhawan, New Delhi and additional chief secretary co-operation.

SK Sandhu: Additional chief secretary, social security and development of women & children

Anurag Agarwal: Financial commissioner, taxation.

Raji P Shrivastava: Director, Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Public Administration

Tejveer Singh: Special principal secretary to CM; secretary, information and public relations and secretary, civil aviation

Vivek Pratap Singh: Excise and taxation commissioner

Krishan Kumar: Secretary, expenditure (department of finance); secretary, personnel.