Left takes early lead in Kerala’s assembly elections | assembly-elections$kerala-2016 | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Left takes early lead in Kerala’s assembly elections

Kerala 2016 Updated: May 19, 2016 09:05 IST

Exit polls predicted a favourable result for the Left Democratic Front in Kerala. Kerala has traditionally booted out the ruling party at every election. (PTI)

As counting of votes for the 140-member Kerala Assembly progressed, early trends showed the Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) taking the lead.

Election officials said candidates from the LDF had forged ahead in 62 seats while the ruling Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) were ahead in 48.

The BJP was at the first spot in one constituency.

A total of 1,203 contestants are in the fray. Most exit polls predicted a victory for the Left. The BJP though is hoping to win a seat in the Kerala assembly for the first time.

About 77 per cent of the 26 million electorate voted on May 16.

Congress ministers A P Anil Kumar is leading by 2325 votes in Wandoor constituency and K C Joseph is leading by 635 votes at Irrikur in Kannur district.

Former Finance minister, K M Mani, is leading by 155 votes in Pala.

LDF candidates leading include Ramachandran Kadanapally in Kannur, A M Shamseer (Thalassery), James Mathew (Thalaiparambu) and Mathew T Thomas of JDS in Pathnamthitta.

Others are leading in one segment.