TN Polls: DMK’s Stalin, DMDK’s Vijayakanth file nominations

  • PTI, Chennai
  • Updated: Apr 28, 2016 13:03 IST
DMDK chief Vijayakanth (C) as well as VCK leader Thol Thirumavalavan (L) are among the prominent political figures who filed their nominations today. (PTI Photo)

DMK treasurer M K Stalin, his colleague Duraimurugan, DMDK president Vijayakanth and VCK chief Thol Thirumavalavan, were among those who filed their nominations in their respective Assembly constituencies on Wednesday to contest the May 16 Assembly polls.

DMK leader and former deputy chief minister Stalin filed his nomination to contest from Kolathur from where he is seeking re-election, while Duraimurugan, a former DMK minister from Katpadi, did so in Vellore district.

DMDK chief Vijayakanth and PMK senior functionary K Balu filed their nomination papers with the authorities in Ulundurpet Constituency in Villupuram district while VCK chief Thirumavalavan filed his papers from Kattumannarkoil, a reserved constituency.

So far, a total of 1,438 candidates (1,284 men,154 women) have filed their nominations across Tamil Nadu.

also read

Rajnath, Varun Gandhi, Smriti, Adityanath: Who will be BJP’s CM face in UP?
Show comments