Karun nominated to FIA drivers' commission

Autocar India
First Published: 19:05 IST(9/3/2013)
Last Updated: 11:05 IST(11/3/2013)
Share  more.
At the first 2013 meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, the body confirmed that Indian racing ace Karun Chandhok has been nominated to be part of the newly created Drivers’ Commission.


Two-time world champion Emerson Fittipaldi was confirmed as president of the new Drivers' Commission with nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb named as vice-president. Karun

Chandhok will join the 1992 world champion Nigel Mansell and former Marussia test driver, Maria de Villota in representing the rights and interests of drivers in single-seaters. Plans to set up the Drivers' Commission were made last year following the granting of provisional recognition by the International Olympic Committee of the FIA as a federation.

Interests of drivers across the disciplines will be represented by the following members:

President:  Emerson Fittipaldi

Vice-President: Sébastien Loeb

Single-SeatersNigel Mansell, Karun Chandhok, Maria de Villota

Sports Cars, GT, Touring Car: Emanuele Piro, Yvan Muller, Adrian Fernandez

Rally, Cross Country Rally: Nasser Al Attiyah, Marcus Gronholm, Daniel Elena

Other disciplines: Kenneth Hansen, Danilo Rossi, Keiko Ihara

Share  more.
comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.hindustantimes.com
comments powered by Disqus


more »
more »