Karun nominated to FIA drivers' commission | autos | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Karun nominated to FIA drivers' commission

autos Updated: Mar 11, 2013 11:05 IST

Autocar India
Highlight Story


At the first 2013 meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council, the body confirmed that Indian racing ace Karun Chandhok has been nominated to be part of the newly created Drivers’ Commission. Two-time world champion Emerson Fittipaldi was confirmed as president of the new Drivers' Commission with nine-time World Rally champion Sebastien Loeb named as vice-president. Karun Chandhok will join the 1992 world champion Nigel Mansell and former Marussia test driver, Maria de Villota in representing the rights and interests of drivers in single-seaters. Plans to set up the Drivers' Commission were made last year following the granting of provisional recognition by the International Olympic Committee of the FIA as a federation. Interests of drivers across the disciplines will be represented by the following members: President: Emerson Fittipaldi Vice-President: Sébastien Loeb Single-Seaters: Nigel Mansell, Karun Chandhok, Maria de Villota Sports Cars, GT, Touring Car: Emanuele Piro, Yvan Muller, Adrian Fernandez Rally, Cross Country Rally: Nasser Al Attiyah, Marcus Gronholm, Daniel Elena Other disciplines: Kenneth Hansen, Danilo Rossi, Keiko Ihara