VW Golf crowned World Car of the Year 2013 | autos | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

VW Golf crowned World Car of the Year 2013

autos Updated: Mar 30, 2013 15:10 IST

The Volkswagen Golf has been declared the 2013 World Car of the Year at the ongoing New York International Auto Show. This is the second consecutive year that VW has won the prestigious title and the fourth time since 2009. The VW Up! won in 2012, the Polo in 2010, and the Golf VI in 2009.

The Golf was chosen from an initial entry list of 42 new vehicles from all over the world, then a short list of 10, then four finalists: the Mercedes-Benz A-class, Porsche Boxster / Cayman, and the combined entry Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota 86 / GT 86, and the VW Golf.

To be eligible for the overall WCOTY award, the candidates must become available for sale on at least two continents during the period beginning January 1, 2012 and ending May 30, 2013. Vehicles are selected and voted on by an international jury panel comprised of 66 top-level automotive journalists from 23 countries around the world. They include Hormazd Sorabjee, editor, Autocar India, and Renuka Kirpalani, editor, the Autocar Show.

Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn, chairman of the Board of Management of Volkswagen, said: “To win this award again shows that the Golf is and remains in a class of its own all around the world. This car sets new benchmarks again and again, not least in terms of efficiency and environmental credentials. Soon, for instance, it will also be launched as a plug-in hybrid and as a 100 percent electric car.”

The World Car Awards jurors observed that, “Honed over seven generations since its original launch in 1974, the Golf is as close to the perfect hatchback design as any car company has come yet. Right sized, but spacious, practical and comfortable inside, the latest Golf has been brought up to date with a fresh if evolutionary design, a range of new engines, plus an impressive list of equipment and safety features. What’s more, it’s fun to drive. If ever there was a car for everyman, the Golf is it.”

Previous World Car of the Year winners were the Volkswagen Up! in 2012, the Nissan Leaf in 2011, the VW Polo in 2010, VW Golf in 2009, the Mazda2 / Mazda Demio in 2008, the Lexus LS460 in 2007, the BMW 3-Series in 2006, and the Audi A6 in 2005.

Meanwhile, the Jaguar F-Type bagged the 2013 World Car Design of the year award, beating the two other finalists, the Mazda6, and the Aston Martin Vanquish.

The Porsche Boxster / Cayman was declared the 2013 World Performance Car, beating the Ferrari F12 Berlinetta, and the combined entry Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota 86 / GT 86 to the title.

Finally, the 2013 World Green Car title was awarded to the Tesla Model S which beat the Renault Zoe and the Volvo V60 Plug-in Hybrid.

Now in their ninth year, the annual World Car awards have become one of the world’s most prestigious, credible and significant programmes of its kind.

2013 World Car of the Year: Volkswagen Golf
2013 World Performance Car: Porsche Boxster / Cayman
2013 World Car Design of the Year: Jaguar F-Type
2013 World Green Car: Tesla Model S