59 state cops to get President’s medal on Aug 15 | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

59 state cops to get President’s medal on Aug 15

bhopal Updated: Jul 25, 2013 10:47 IST
HT Correspondent

President’s medals would be awarded to 59 officials and personnel of the police, jail and home guards on the occasion of Independence Day (on August 15).

Five policemen will be awarded the gallantry medal.

Four of them would get it posthumously.

Seven police officials will get medals for distinguished service while the remaining would get medals for meritorious service.

The names of the policemen who were selected for gallantry medal includes late Vir Singh Sapre, an inspector with Guna police, late DP Gupta, a sub- inspector with Datia police, late Gyanendra Sharma, a policeman with Morena district force, late Shiv Pratap Singh who was an ATS personnel and Jitendra Kumar Panchal.

Among the officials who will get medal for distinguished service include additional director general of police (ADG) Vijay Yadav, ADG Pawan Jain, ADG Aruna Mohan Rao, OSD to CM The gallantry medals will be conferred on four policemen posthumously.

They include late inspector Veer Singh Sapre, late sub-inspector DP Gupta, late constable Gyanendra Sharma and late ATS personnel Shiv Pratap.

Sapre was killed when large gathering of tribals had clashed with the police in Guna, a few years ago.

Shiv Pratap had been shot dead by SIMI operatives in June 2011.

Sharma was posted near a shrine in Morena to oversee the smooth movement of pilgrims when he successfully saved a girl who was on track, in way of approaching train, but in process he lost his life.

The families of the martyred policemen will receive the medals. Sudhir Kumar Saxena, ADG TK Ghosh, ADG CV Muniraju and IG Satish Kumar Saxena.

The officers who will get the medal for meritorious service include inspector generals of police (IGs) Mahesh Mudgal, MS Kanwar, Bhopal deputy inspector general (DIG) D Sreenivasa Varma, DIGs Jaideep Prasad, Makrand Deuskar, Umesh Joga , SP- rank officers including Dr RS Sikarwar, AK Pandey, Ramashray Chaubey, AS Kushwaha, Manish Kapuria, Vinit Khanna andd Tilak Singh.

Others to get the medal include assistant commandants BL Dohre, RK Chandare, deputy superintendent of police ( DSP) BS Gurjar, inspectors Sanjeev Nagar, Vinod Sharma and Subhash Singh.

Some other policemen to get this medal include Ajay Turkai, Asla Ram, Ramdas Ivnati, AK Mishra, Anjana Ruben, Nirmal Dhasmana, Surendra Jain, Kaushalendra Tiwari, MK Mitra, Ramesh Deshmukh, UC Jha and Motilal Sharma.

Four officers of Home Guard will be awarded the medal for distinguished services while five will get medal for meritorious services.

Besides, four officials of jail department will get medal for meritorious service.