Bhopal: KS Dhillon meets ticket contenders | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bhopal: KS Dhillon meets ticket contenders

bhopal Updated: Jun 25, 2013 11:05 IST
HT Correspondent

Amidst noise and commotion, All India Congress Committee (AICC) observer KS Dhillon interacted with local party leaders to pinpoint the potential party candidates for Bhopal (north, central and south-west) and Narela constituencies at Jawahar Bhavan on Monday.

As expected, Narela and Bhopal (central) turned out to be the most contentious seats.

Bhopal (north), the only seat in Bhopal held by a Congress leader (Arif Aqueel) for the fourth consecutive term, appeared to be going his way again as no potential rival staked claim for the seat.

Arif Masood, who has often been seen as someone modelling himself in a manner so as to emerge as an alternative to Arif Aqueel, also sought ticket from Bhopal (central), an apple in the eyes of several Muslim leaders like defeated party candidate in the previous election Nasir Islam, Shahvar Alam, Nizamuddin Ansari ‘Chand’ and Syed Farooq Ali.

Mainly because of substantial Muslim population in the constituency it is also district Congress committee (DCC) president PC Sharma’s choice.

Narela is also turning out to be a high-profile seat with a lot of potential contenders eyeing the seat currently represented by BJP MLA Vishwas Sarang.

Mahendra Singh, Manoj Shukla, Kailash Mishra, Sunil Sood were among the leaders who met Dhillo and tried to convince him on why they would be the best suited candidate for the seat.

At least, three of the contenders for ticket from Narela are close confidantes of Suresh Pachouri.

For Bhopal ( south-west), which is being considered a place where Congress may expect a victory going by the poor track record of Umashankar Gupta as state home minister who represents this seat, does not seem to be attracting too many potential Congress contenders.

However, few potential contenders like Sanjeev Saxena, Abha Singh, Shashi Rajput, Monu Saxena and a few more Congress leaders met the observer with their supporters to explain the basis of their demand for the ticket.