BJP retains Garoth seat in MP by-poll with trimmed winning margin | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 31, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP retains Garoth seat in MP by-poll with trimmed winning margin

bhopal Updated: Jun 30, 2015 14:06 IST
Madhya Pradesh

Bhartiya Janata Party retained the Garoth Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh's Mandsaur district in the by-election on Tuesday, albeit with a reduced margin than in the 2013 Assembly election.

State Congress unit's chief spokesperson KK Mishra termed BJP's victory with a reduced margin in the bypoll as the ruling party's "moral defeat".

The by-election was necessitated by the death of BJP MLA Rajesh Yadav following illness.

BJP candidate Chander Singh Sisodia won the by-poll by defeating Congress' Subhash Kumar Sojatia with a margin of 12,945 votes, an election officer said.

Sisodia got 81,449 votes while Sojatia bagged 68,504 votes, he said.

The BJP had won the seat in the 2013 Assembly polls with a margin of 25,755 votes.

A total of 1,55,934 voters exercised their franchise in the bypoll, with 1,924 even voting in favour of NOTA (None of the Above). In 2013, 1,63,892 votes were polled at the seat.

Eight candidates were in fray for the by-poll but the main contest was between BJP's Sisodia and Congress nominee Sojatia.

Alleged that BJP won the by-poll by misusing official machinery, Mishra said, that it is not the victory of BJP, but of its "dishonesty".

However, Madhya Pradesh's BJP unit spokesperson Vishwas Sarang said it was a victory of the policies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

People have again expressed their faith in their governance, Sarang said, adding that the victory margin was "comfortable".

State BJP's media incharge Dr Hitesh Vajpayee also described the party's success in Garoth as the victory of Chouhan, his government and the party's policies.