Civic polls: Celebrations erupt at MP BJP office in Bhopal | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Civic polls: Celebrations erupt at MP BJP office in Bhopal

bhopal Updated: Dec 04, 2014 20:56 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story


Celebrations erupted at Deen Dayal Parisar - MP BJP office in Bhopal — after results of the first phase of urban bodies' polls starting pouring in on Thursday.

The BJP bagged all nine municipal corporations that went to polls in the first phase - four more than in 2009. The party fared equally well in the municipalities and nagar panchayats. Besides nine municipal corporations, results for 26 municipalities and 100 nagar panchayats were also declared on Thursday of which BJP won 26 municipalities and 58 nagar panchayats.

Chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan joined the BJP workers in celebrating the victory at the BJP office on Thursday evening. Referring to MP BJP president Nandkumar Singh Chauhan, the CM said he had not hit a 'chauka' or 'chakka' but a 'nauka', in reference to the BJP bagging all nine municipal corporations that saw polling on November 26. The CM, however, cautioned party workers and asked them to be humble in victory.

The nine municipal corporations where the BJP won include Gwalior (Vivek Shejwalkar), Sagar (Abhay Durrey), Ratlam (Dr Sunita Yarde), Dewas (Subhash Sharma), Rewa (Mamta Gupta), Satna (Mamta Pandey), Singrauli (Premwati Khairwar), Burhanpur (Anil Bhonsle) and Khandwa (Subhash Kothari). These include Sagar, Dewas, Satna and Singrauli which the BJP had not won in 2009 elections. The one-sided victory laid to rest speculation in political circles that the Congress would benefit from local anti-incumbency and infighting in BJP could cost it the elections.

State BJP president Nandkumar Singh Chauhan attributed the victory to the popularity of the BJP governments at the state and central levels, development works of the state government and the efforts of the workers at the ground level. "We have to ensure victory for the party in municipal corporations in Bhopal, Jabalpur, Indore, Morena and Chhindwara too," Nandkumar Singh Chauhan told BJP workers.

Of the 16 municipal corporations in MP, 10 have gone to the polls, while elections would be held soon in Indore, Bhopal, Jabalpur, Morena and Chhindwara.

Elections in Ujjain Municipal Corporation are due in 2016. Results for the second phase of urban bodies' polls where voting was held on December 2 would be declared on December 7. Of the 10 municipal corporations where elections are being held, results for Katni Municipal Corporation would be declared on Sunday.