It’s time for surgical strikes in sports, says MP chief minister | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

It’s time for surgical strikes in sports, says MP chief minister

bhopal Updated: Nov 11, 2016 09:57 IST
MP Shikhar Khel Alankaran Samaroh

Eklavya, Vikram and Dronacharya awrd winners posing for a group photograph with Olympic medalist P V Sindhu and P Gopichand during MP Shikhar Khel Alankaran Samaroh in Bhopal on Thursday.(Mujeeb Faruqui/HT photo)

After terror camps in Pakistan-occupied Kashmir and black money, it’s time for surgical strikes on sports associations to curb political interference, chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan said at the MP Shikhar Khel Alankaran Samaroh in Bhopal on Thursday.

The chief minister rewarded Olympics silver medallist PV Sindhu with Rs 50 lakh in the presence of her badminton coach Pullela Gopichand and said sportsman spirit is needed for doing politics but politics shouldn’t be allowed in games.

“Those who don’t have any understanding about sports shouldn’t be a part of sports associations. Sportspersons and sports enthusiasts should run associations to help to clinch Olympics medals,” said Chouhan.

The chief minister said his government would give its best for development of sports.

Sports minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia and director sports Upendra Jain were also present on the occasion.

Mountaineers Bhagwan Singh and Ratnesh Pandey were honoured with Rs 1 lakh each.

Fifteen players were conferred with Eklavya and 10 players were presented with Vikram Awards.

This year, Vishwamitra awards were handed over to two coaches -- Sudesh Sangte for soft tennis and Virendra Panwar for taekwondo. The lifetime achievement award went to MP State Women’s Hockey Academy coach Paramjeet Singh.

Chouhan announced that state players who represented India at the Rio Olympics will be felicitated at a function in Bhopal in December.


Eklavya Awardees: Mohik Gajdhar (soft tennis), Chinki Yadav (shooting), Neha Rajput (wushu), Atul Mishra (layaking-canoeing), Aeeni Jain (swimming), Arunima Shrivastava (fencing), Paridhi Joshi (equestrian), Satyam Sharma (karate), Anand Thakur (sailing), Mayank Patel (cycling), Rahul Batham (cricket), Divya Thepe (hockey), Sonali Bisht (soft ball) and Soumya Agarwal (rope skipping)

Vikram Awardees: Nimita Chandel (kayaking-canoeing), Purvi Soni (wushu), Shalini Sankath (shooting), Rishabh Mehta (horseback riding), Shraavya Dronadula (taekwondo), Sameer Verma (badminton), Neetu Singh (kabaddi), Ankit Chintaman (kho-kho), Kamal Kushwah (throwball) and Ravi Kumar Surariya (cycling, physically challenged)