Madhya Pradesh: BJP sweeps civic bodies in phase one | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Madhya Pradesh: BJP sweeps civic bodies in phase one

bhopal Updated: Dec 04, 2014 22:46 IST
HT Correspondent
Madhya Pradesh


Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday swept the civic bodies elections in Madhya Pradesh by capturing all the nine municipal corporations, which went to polls in the first phase on November 28.

Elections for the first phase were held to elect 135 civic bodies in the state, counting for which were held Thursday, state election commission sources said.

Counting for the second phase of polls would be held on December 7.

The victory led to celebrations in the BJP camp with chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and state BJP president Nandkumar Singh Chauhan described the party's performance in the urban bodies’ polls as a victory of the party workers.

The chief minister said the results showed people are happy with the performance of his government.

The saffron party registered an impressive show in nagar nigams’ mayoral elections by winning all 9 mayors' posts. For nagar palika presidents' posts, the BJP won 16 out of 26 results declared. For nagar parishads heads' posts, the party won 58 out of 100 results declared.

BJP dominated the mayoral elections with its candidate Prem Kumar Sharma wining the post of mayor in Dewas while in Burhanpur, its nominee Anil defeated Congress' Mohd Ismail.

Abhay Darre won Sagar Municipal mayor's post. In Khandwa Subhash Kothari was elected as mayor whereas in Ratlam Sunita Yarde was declared the winner.

Mamta Gupta of the BJP defeated Kavita Pandey of the Congress in Rewa.

BJP’s Vivek Narayan Shejwalkar bagged the mayor seat with a margin of over 1 lakh votes by defeating Congress candidate Darshan Singh in Gwalior.

Mamata Pandey won the mayor's post in Satna while Premwati Khairwar defeated Sangeeta Singh of Congress in Singrauli.

Out of the 26 nagar palikas that went to polls on in the first phase, the BJP won 16 palika presidents' post while the Congress had to be content with 7 seats.

Subhash Chandra Sarraf of Bahujan Samaj Party won in Datia while two independents managed to win the palika parishad presidents post.

Out of 100 nagar parishads, the BJP managed to capture 58 civic bodies while the Congress had to be satisfied with 26 such posts.

Independent candidates won in 16 parishads.

Fate decided by toss

In Berasia Nagar Palika, the fate of contestants in ward number 14 was decided by a toss as both the contestants got equal number of votes.

Imrat Kushwah and Khemsingh Jardan managed to get 170 votes each. Returning officer then managed to decide after conducting a toss in which luck favoured Khemsingh.