MP: BJP suffers major jolt in civic bodies’ elections | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP: BJP suffers major jolt in civic bodies’ elections

bhopal Updated: Jul 18, 2016 22:17 IST
HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Bhopal
MP civic bodies’ elections

Congress workers celebrating party’s win in local body elections, at the PCC office in Bhopal on Monday.(Mujeeb Faruqui/HT photo)

The ruling party in Madhya Pradesh suffered a major jolt in civic bodies elections held for two Nagar Palika Parishad and one Nagar Parishad. The Congress won all the elections despite chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan campaigning for the party candidates in the elections.

The Opposition candidates not only snatched the presidents’ posts but also had majority of coroprators seats in the elections. The counting of votes was held and results declared on Monday.

Maihar Nagar Palika Parishad’s president post goes to Cong

Congress candidate Dharmesh Ghai defeated the BJP’s Dheeraj Prasad Pandey with a margin of 4035 votes to win Satna district’s Maihar Nagar Palika Parishad’s president post. He polled 14185 votes against his rival’s 10150 votes.

In another prestigious election, Badri Singh of the Congress defeated Rajendra Kumar Agrawal of the BJP in Mandideep Nagar Palika Parishad election in neighbouring Raisen district with a margin of 5311 votes. He got 18731 votes while Agrawal could secure 13420 votes.

Cong bags president’s post in Isagarh Parishad in Ashok Nagar dist

Bhupendra Narain of Congress defeated the BJP candidate Hariballabh with a margin of 1268 votes to win the president’s post in Isagarh Parishad in Ashok Nagar district.

Though Ishagarh is not the BJP’s bastion, the party’s defeat in Maihar Nagar Palika Parishad where it registered an emphatic win in the state assembly seat by-poll about five months back only and Mandideep where former chief minister Sunderlal Patwa and his nephew culture and tourism minister Surendra Patwa wields much political influence has caused flutter in the party circles.

Congress wins 12 corporators seats in Maihar

The Congress won 12 corporators seats in Maihar against the BJP’s 11 and BSP’s 1 in Maihar, while the Opposition now has 13 corporators in Mandideep against the BJP’s 12 and one Independent. In Ishagarh the Congress won 11 seats of corporators against the BJP’s merely 4.

Infighting in the BJP for dominance over the local politics, wrong selection of candidates and the party’s over dependence on chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s campaign are said to be some of the reasons behind the party’s poor show. It was only in December last year when in the elections held for 8 civic bodies the Congress registered its win in five.

The BJP has put up a brave face saying the local equations could be compared with the state assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

“The party has gracefully accepted the defeat. Certainly, there has to be some reasons behind the defeat and the party will look into it”, said the BJYM leader Rajneesh Agrawal talking to the Hindustan Times.

The state Congress president Arun Yadav termed the victory as the party workers’ victory saying people defeated the BJP despite the latter’s misusing the government machinery and resorting to muscle and money power.