MP: BJP sweeps second phase of civic elections | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP: BJP sweeps second phase of civic elections

bhopal Updated: Dec 07, 2014 22:26 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
civic body elections

The BJP sweeped the second phase of civic body elections in Madhya Pradesh. The results of the second phase of the polls were announced on Sunday.

The BJP won 81 posts out of 142 in nagar palika and nagar parishads that went to polls on December 2. The party also won the mayor's election at Katni nagar nigam. The CPI (M) managed to win one nagar parishad seat.

The counting for the second phase was done on Sunday for 1 nagar nigam, 38 nagar palikas and 104 nagar parishads. The BJP remained much ahead of other political parties after bagging 81 seats. The Congress won 40, Bahujan Samaj Party won three, CPI (M) won one and independents bagged 17 seats.

The lone nagar nigam election that took place in Katni was won by the BJP whose Shashank Shrivastava defeated Congress' Cheni Chelani.

Out of the total 38 nagar palikas, the BJP managed to win 22. In the 104 nagar parishads that went to polls in the second round, the BJP won at 61 places.

The Congress, the main opposition party, could register its win only in 10 nagar palikas and independent candidates won at five nagar palikas.

Bahujan Samaj Party won Dabra nagar palika's president post. Dabra constituency is represented by chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan's trusted lieutenant Narottam Mishra. Another setback for the BJP came from Shivpuri where Munnalal Kushwah of the Congress managed to defeat the BJP. Shivpuri is represented by commerce and industry minister Yashodhra Raje Scindia.

In the first phase, voting was done for 135 civic bodies. The BJP had registered win at all 9 nagar nigams then. Out of 126 nagar palika and nagar parishad presidents' posts, the BJP bagged 74, Congress 33, BSP 1 and independents won at 18 places in the first phase.

Elections were held in 278 civic bodies in two phases in MP including 10 municipal corporations, 64 nagar palika parishads and 204 nagar parishads. Of these, the BJP won all 10 municipal corporations, 38 nagar palika parishads and 119 nagar parishads in the state.