MP: Chauhan to be re-elected state BJP president | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP: Chauhan to be re-elected state BJP president

bhopal Updated: Jan 04, 2016 21:04 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Bharatiya Janata Party

Nomination papers of Nandkumar Singh Chauhan were submitted to central observer Ramdas Agrawal, in Bhopal on Monday. (Mujeeb Faruqui/ HT photo)

Incumbent state Bharatiya Janata Party president and Khandwa Lok Sabha MP Nandkumar Singh Chauhan is set to be re-elected unopposed as the state’s party chief for a second term.

Only Nandkumar filed his nomination for the coveted post of the ruling BJP in the state on Monday and he will be formally declared elected unopposed as the Madhya Pradesh BJP president for the next three years on Tuesday. He is likely to take charge at 11 am on Tuesday.

In a unique show of unity and unanimity, senior BJP leaders, including chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar and Thawarchand Gehlot, former CMs Sunderlal Patwa and Kailash Joshi, BJP vice president Prabhat Jha and MP Krishna Murari Moghe, accompanied Chauhan to the party headquarters for filing the nomination papers.

Former union minister Faggan Singh Kulaste, who had earlier staked claim to the post, also accompanied Chauhan.

Party sources told HT that Chauhan was given another full term after the chief minister convinced other top leaders from the state and claimants for the post to give Chauhan another term as “he (Chauhan) had not really got a chance to work.” The CM also pulled a few strings to ensure that national BJP ST Morcha chief, Faggan Singh Kulaste, who had openly declared his intention to become the state unit chief, did not contest.

According to the party sources, the CM was keen on Chauhan as he was the least ambitious as a party president.

The Khandwa MP took the reins of the party for the remaining term of the then state BJP president, Narendra Singh Tomar who after BJP came to power at the Centre became Union minister for steel and mines. He remained on the seat for one-and-a-half years.

Elected unopposed

Chauhan filed his nomination at the state BJP headquarters around 3.30 pm on Monday

The nomination papers were seconded by 12 BJP leaders, including the CM, and were handed over by Shivraj Singh Chouhan to the returning officer

Shortly before 4 pm, the deadline for filing the nominations, state party election observer and former MP Ramdas Agrawal verified if anyone else wanted to file papers. However, no one came forward

The nomination paper was scrutinised, but the formal announcement was reserved till Tuesday.