MP Congress' new executive committee formed; Manak Agarwal, Arif Aqueel, Govind Goyal dropped | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP Congress' new executive committee formed; Manak Agarwal, Arif Aqueel, Govind Goyal dropped

bhopal Updated: Sep 09, 2015 11:18 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Arun Yadav

Amidst speculations that MP Congress chief Arun Yadav's position has weakened considerably in the wake of successive electoral defeats in the by-elections and local bodies' elections, Yadav showed that he still enjoyed the confidence of party's Central leadership when 193-member Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) executive was announced on Friday.

Yadav had not been able to effect changes in the PCC in one-an-a half year of his stewardship and when it was ultimately done, it has a deep imprint of his choices more than the powerful factional leaders of the state.

While Digvijaya Singh camp has been the worst hit with his brother Laxman Singh reduced to the status of special invitee from vice-president and close aides like Manak Agrawal, Arif Aqueel and Govind Goyal dropped from the executive.

Many of the faces in this jumbo executive are little known and bias towards yadavs and brahmins is apparent, was the common refrain of Congress leaders, many of them close to Arun Yadav.

The most surprising ommission in the list was Manak Agarwal, poster boy of the PCC for years, who was MP Congress vice-president till now, and his name doesn't figure in the new executive.

Lone Congress MLA from Bhopal, Arif Aqueel, also failed to make it to the list.

Former MP Laxman Singh, who was vice-president in the outgoing executive, has been made special invitee. Chandrika Dwivedi, who is considered his close confidante, has been made general secretary, in-charge of organisation.

The 193 member list includes 24 special invitees, 18 vice-presidents, 40 general secretaries and 28 permanent invitees, other than a treasurer.

All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Sonia Gandhi approved the names, said Congress general secretary Janardhan Dwivedi.

Apart from Laxman Singh, other leaders in the list of 24 special invitees include Narendra Nahata, Mahendra Singh Kalukheda, Pratap Bhanu Sharma amongst others.

There are 40 general secretaries including Chandrika Dwivedi (in-charge organisation), PC Sharma, Jitu Patwari, Sunil Sood amongst others. Besides, there are 83 secretaries.

The top Congress leaders who are in the list of 28 permanent invitees include Kamal Nath, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Digvijaya Singh, Sriniwas Tiwari, Ajay Singh, Suresh Pachouri, Satyavrat Chaturvedi, Satyadev Katare, Kantilal Bhuria, Hazarilal Raghuvansh. Apart from the 193 members, Vinod Daga has been made treasurer.

Talking to Hindustan Times, Manak Agarwal said that it was PCC president's prerogative to have executive of his choice. However, Agarwal, said that he has stopped going to PCC office.