MP mayoral polls: Cong names candidates from Bhopal, Jabalpur | bhopal | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP mayoral polls: Cong names candidates from Bhopal, Jabalpur

bhopal Updated: Jan 06, 2015 22:45 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times


The Congress announced the names of its mayoral candidates for Bhopal and Jabalpur on Tuesday, which was the last day of filing the nominations. The civic body elections are scheduled to take place in Bhopal, Indore and Jabalpur on January 31.

As expected the Congress declared Kailash Mishra,60, who has been the Bhopal Municipal Corporation (BMC) council chairman, as its mayoral candidate from Bhopal and Geeta Tiwari from Jabalpur. Mishra had won as a Congress corporator in the past. On Monday evening, the party had announced Archana Jaiswal's name as its mayoral candidate for Indore.

The Congress had kept the suspense over its candidates’ names from the two cities even after the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party had announced the candidates from the three cities.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already fielded Alok Sharma as its mayoral candidate from Bhopal. The ruling party's candidates in Indore and Jabalpur are Malini Goud and Swati Godbole respectively.

Mishra's name had been in the reckoning for the last couple of days. However, there was some confusion lately because certain lobbies in the party propped up other names. The elections for the three major cities are a prestige point for both the parties.

The Bhopal municipal area has increased after the merger of the Kolar municipality. Now the BMC has 85 wards. The Congress is yet to announce the names of the corporators. However, the party leaders said that the list was final and could be declared by late Tuesday evening.

Mayoral candidates in major cities of MP

City BJP Congress

Bhopal Alok Sharma Kailash Mishra
Jabalpur Swati Godbole Geeta Tiwari
Indore Malini Goud Archana Jaiswal