3rd book of Archer's 'Clifton Chronicles' to have India launch | books | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

3rd book of Archer's 'Clifton Chronicles' to have India launch

books Updated: Mar 04, 2013 12:35 IST

Highlight Story

Jeffrey Archer fans, here's some good news for you! The third book of the master storyteller's "The Clifton Chronicles" will be released in India next week ahead of its global launch and the British author will travel to Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai and the capital.

"Best Kept Secret" is the highly anticipated third instalment of "The Clifton Chronicles" and takes the reader on a breakneck journey from Bristol to the US and on to Buenos Aires in the mid 1950s.

Published in India by Pan Macmillan India, it bears all the hallmarks of a classic Archer thriller, keeping the reader guessing throughout with his fast-paced narrative and nail-biting cliff-hangers.

Says Archer on travelling to India for the launch, "Everyone knows my love of India, and I'm delighted to be back again with the third volume of 'The Clifton Chronicles', 'Best Kept Secret'. Don't keep it secret - let everyone know!"

"Jeffrey continues to enthral audiences all over and we are delighted that he has chosen to launch the book in India first, ahead of its global launch," says Rajdeep Mukherjee, vice president and head of Pan Macmillan India.

The author will travel to Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai and New Delhi from March 10-15 as part of the special launch. Last December, Archer was in India for five days during which he addressed universities, schools and readers groups. In his blog, Archer mentioned that during his stay, he enjoyed "teasing the locals about our (English) cricketers' magnificent victory in winning the Test series".

He met two of his family's close friends Sunita and Naresh Kumar, who live in Kolkata and had invited him to attend a special party for 700 children from the missionary homes.

Spanning the 20th century, "The Clifton Chronicles" is a gripping family saga of the trials and tribulations of the Clifton and Barringtons, two families at opposite ends of the social spectrum.

"Only Time Will Tell" is the first novel in "The Clifton Chronicles". The epic tale of Harry Clifton;s life begins in 1920, with the words "I was told that my father was killed in the war."

A dock worker in Bristol, Harry never knew his father and expects to continue on at the shipyard, until a remarkable gift wins him a scholarship to an exclusive boys’ school, and his life changes.

"Sins of the Father" is the second book in the series and begins from the time before Britain declares war on Germany. In "Best Kept Secret", Harry Clifton is now a best-selling novelist and has built a new life with Emma Barrington and their son Sebastian. As they begin their married life together, they face danger and disloyalty not only from within the Barrington family but from a shady figure from Harry's past.