7 must-read Meg Cabot books for every single one of you

  • Tarunima Panwar, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jun 30, 2015 08:04 IST

If you've ever read Meg Cabot, it's like stating the obvious: She is one of the best writers you've ever read. No, I am no little girl waiting for some pearls of wisdom, or a teeny booper with no control over her feelings. I say this as an adult who has grown up reading her books.

Meg Cabot can make you laugh and cry, in one single sentence. The good thing is that she mostly makes you laugh. A lot.


(Gifs: Giphy and Tumblr)

Because rainy season is a great time to read a good book, here's our you-cannot-do-without-it list of Cabot masterpieces.

1 The Princess Diaries series
“What is the appropriate reply to make to a man who says he loves you? Thank you. You are very kind.”


This is the series that made Meg Cabot, it is the story of a nobody transforming into a somebody: something which every girl secretly pines for. As usual, Meg cracks the perfect balance between fiction and reality. Mia’s constant paranoia about everything, from awkward social events to being tongue-tied when dealing with cute guys is something that we can all relate to. These books are the perfect guide to growing up. When I was growing up this is all that I read, and I turned out okay (for the most part).

2The Mediator series
“And then, little by little, the reality of what I had just done sank in: I had just killed my boyfriend’s dad!”


Sussanah Simon has the charm of a tiger and a tongue as sharp as a sword. Being a mediator, her life isn’t easy. And to add to all the burdens she has to deal with, she has feelings for a guy who has been dead for 150 years! It doesn't end here: She also has to also deal with ghosts almost every single day and Paul Slater (XOXO).

3 The Airhead series
“I don't do alcohol. Or other people's boyfriends. And don't you forget it.”


One of the most whistle-worthy lines from the book, the Airhead series has a bunch of adorable characters who gravitate between being super funny and super crazy.

Being Nikki: “No one has ever died of embarrassment-never, not once in the whole history of time.”

This quote keeps me going. All day everyday. Aside from these witticisms this series is also full of twists and turns. It effortlessly combines wisdom with fun (Lulu’s speech to Nikki, words to live by).

4 The Queen of Babble series
“There will be no more British guys. Unless they are members of the royal family, of course.”


The Queen of Babble Series is full of totally believable events that lead to unbelievable things, with multiple words of wisdom spread across these three books. The series is practicality at its best.

Sample this.

Queen of Babble in the Big City: “One of the many advantages of having a boyfriend who is half French is that his culinary repertoire extends beyond mac and cheese. Plus, there’s the kissing.”
Here's more.

Queen of Babble Gets Hitched: “But I intend to enjoy the weeks I have left with you to the fullest. Because I know from my study of the philosophy of time, whatever is going to happen in the future is already unavoidable.”
One of the leading men in the books says this: You cannot even get over him. Ever.

5 Pants on Fire (Tommy Sullivan is a Freak)
“I'm a liar. And I can't stop thinking about boys.”


Say most girls everywhere. With its speculative start, this book sure packs a few surprises. It is definitely Meg at her best: She can relate to 10-year-olds and 20-year-olds relate to her with the same ease.

6 The Heather Wells Mystery series
“See,” she’s saying. “I told you, Heather. You’re too nice to win. Too weak. Not in good enough shape. Because size twelve is fat. Oh, I know what you’re going to say. It’s the size of the average American woman. But guess what? The average American woman is fat, Heather.”


These books talk about Heather’s struggle with herself and her weight and her previous stardom, and they also provide an interesting perspective on the sociological problems that are associated with being fat, so much so that there has been a paper that actually lists the book as one of its sources.

7 Every Boy’s Got One
“If your head is constantly stuck in a book, you're going to miss a lot.”


It is one of the best books in the ‘Boy’ Series. The entire book is written as a series of email conversations, PDA notes, with Jane’s journal being our prime source of knowledge. If you like fun rom-coms, then you would surely love this book. With a lot of emphasis on food, cats and Italy, Every Boy’s Got one is definitely one of Meg’s best books.

P.S: Clever word play on the title, it might have scandalized you but the truth is far less nefarious.

also read

Pick, hoard, read: Books for Rs. 25 at Harper Collins Faridabad sale
Show comments