Boyden leads 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist | books | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 05, 2016-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Boyden leads 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist

books Updated: Sep 17, 2013 17:45 IST

Highlight Story

Five of the thirteen Canadian authors return, having been recognized during previous years' Giller Prizes.

Joseph Boyden is the list's only previous winner, for "Through Black Spruce" in 2008, though Lynn Coady was a finalist in 2011 with "The Antagonist."

Wayne Johnston was a finalist in 1998 and 2002 ("The Colony of Unrequited Dreams," "The Navigator of New York") and later longlisted in 2006 and 2011, while Lisa Moore is another double finalist with appearances in 2002 and 2005 ("Open," "Alligator").

Michael Winter was longlisted in 2007; Claire Messud joins him in having served as a Giller Prize juror prior to nomination.

There are links, too, between some of the debutant authors: Wayne Grady, of "Emancipation Day," translated Louis Hamelin's "October 1970" from the French; both are recognized by this year's longlist.

On the jury, previous winners Margaret Atwood (1996) and Esi Edugyan (2011) are joined by American author and National Book Critics Circle Award-winner Jonathan Lethem.

Scotiabank Giller Prize 2013 longlist

Dennis Bock, "Going Home Again"
Joseph Boyden, "The Orenda"
Lynn Coady, "Hellgoing"
Craig Davidson, "Cataract City"
Elisabeth De Mariaffi, "How To Get Along With Women"
David Gilmour, "Extraordinary"
Wayne Grady, "Emancipation Day"
Louis Hamelin, "October 1970"
Wayne Johnston, "The Son of a Certain Woman"
Claire Messud, "The Woman Upstairs"
Lisa Moore, "Caught"
Dan Vyleta, "The Crooked Maid"
Michael Winter, "Minister Without Portfolio"

The $50,000 prize, open to Canadian authors published in English, will have its shortlist announced on October 8, with the other finalists awarded $5,000.