Lost Booker Prize from 1970 to be awarded | books | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 07, 2016-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lost Booker Prize from 1970 to be awarded

books Updated: Feb 01, 2010 13:48 IST

Highlight Story

Booker prizeTwenty-two books published in 1970 and not considered for the Booker Prize because of a reorganisation of the rules could finally win the prestigious literary award 40 years on, organisers said.

The list of candidates includes several winners of the Booker Prize, now called the Man Booker Prize, including Iris Murdoch for A Fairly Honourable Defeat and JG Farrell for Troubles.

Murdoch won the annual prize honouring English-language works by authors from the Commonwealth and Ireland for The Sea, The Sea in 1978 and Farrell won in 1973 for The Siege of Krishnapur.

A panel of three judges will decide on a shortlist of six novels to be announced in March and the winner will be voted for by the public via the Man Booker Prize's website. The winner of the Lost Man Booker Prize will be announced in May.

Following is the full list of candidates:
Brian Aldiss - The Hand Reared Boy
H.E.Bates - A Little Of What You Fancy?
Nina Bawden - The Birds On The Trees
Melvyn Bragg - A Place In England
Christy Brown - Down All The Days
Len Deighton - Bomber
J.G.Farrell - Troubles
Elaine Feinstein - The Circle
Shirley Hazzard - The Bay Of Noon
Reginald Hill - A Clubbable Woman
Susan Hill - I'm The King Of The Castle
Francis King - A Domestic Animal
Margaret Laurence - The Fire Dwellers
David Lodge - Out Of The Shelter
Iris Murdoch - A Fairly Honourable Defeat
Shiva Naipaul - Fireflies
Patrick O'Brian - Master and Commander
Joe Orton - Head To Toe
Mary Renault - Fire From Heaven
Ruth Rendell - A Guilty Thing Surprised
Muriel Spark - The Driver's Seat
Patrick White - The Vivisector