Lost Booker Prize shortlist announced | books | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lost Booker Prize shortlist announced

books Updated: Mar 26, 2010 17:42 IST

Highlight Story

Booker prizeJG Farrell and Muriel Spark were among the authors shortlisted for an unusual take on Britain's most prestigious literary award, the Booker Prize.

The Lost Booker Prize - other contenders for which include Patrick White and Nina Bawden - is being awarded for books from 1970 which missed out the first time around because of a rule change in 1971.

Previously the prize, which began in 1969, was retrospective, meaning the 1970 award went to novels published the previous year but the 1971 prize went to those published in 1971.

Farrell has the chance to win the award for a second time.

He previously took it in 1973 for The Siege of Krishnapur, which takes place during the Indian Rebellion of 1857.

His novel shortlisted for the Lost Booker Prize, Troubles, also deals with British empire issues, this time in Ireland.

Spark has been shortlisted twice before, for The Public Image in 1969 and Loitering With Intent in 1981.

"The judges have chosen a very impressive list of fiction that, though published 40 years ago, clearly still has resonance today," said Booker Prize literary director Ion Trewin.

Members of the public will be able to choose the winner of the prize via the award's website and the overall winner will be announced on May 19.

One of the most prestigious awards in English-language literature, the annual Booker Prize goes to the best work of fiction by an author from the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.


The Birds on the Trees by Nina Bawden

Troubles by J G Farrell

The Bay of Noon by Shirley Hazzard

Fire From Heaven by Mary Renault

The Driver's Seat by Muriel Spark

The Vivisector by Patrick White