5 scientists, two others win Infosys awards

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Nov 13, 2013 00:47 IST

Five eminent scientists, a noted historian and a reputed linguist from premier Indian institutes bagged the Infosys Science Foundation awards for 2013. The award that was instituted in 2009 by software major Infosys Ltd is funded by a corpus of `100 crore ($18 million), contributed by its trustees, including co-founders of the company.

This year, four people from Delhi bagged the award that included Rajesh Gokhale, director Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, for life sciences, Aninhalli R Vasavi, senior fellow at Nehru Memorial Museum and Library for social sciences. Nayanjot Lahiri, history professor at University of Delhi, and Ayesha Kidwai, professor in linguistics at Jawaharlal Nehru University jointly bagged the prize in humanities category.

The award given out in six science disciplines and humanities carries a prize money of `55 lakh.

also read

Cyrus Mistry vs Ratan Tata: All questions answered
Show comments