Cyber fraud stopped from using Anil Ambani's name | business | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cyber fraud stopped from using Anil Ambani's name

business Updated: Jan 21, 2008 20:29 IST

The Delhi High Court has transferred to ADAG Chairman Anil Ambani a domain name, which was used by a cyber squatter to spread false and misleading information about the group.

The court restrained the squatter from using a website with the domain name "www.Anilambani.Com" saying it was a deliberate attempt to harm Ambani's business interest.

"Considering the material placed on record by Anil Ambani and the website created by the defendant, I consider that use of domain name 'anilambani' by the defendant was a deliberate attempt to play mischief," Justice SN Dhingra said.

"There can be no other purpose of the defendant in creating website in the name of 'anilambani.Com' except to harm the plaintiff (Anil Ambani) and his business interest," it held while transferring the said domain name.

The lawsuit filed by Ambani through his counsel Pratibha Maninder Singh, had sought to restrain one Ram Prakash Sood from using the domain name or transferring it to any third party.

Singh alleged that Sood used the name of Ambani to damage his reputation and goodwill. The website contained false information in respect of business ventures and business strategies of Anil Ambani.

Singh contended that Anil Ambani is a business tycoon and is running several well
known companies.

On the website, one can find informations like "Alliance with Zee Telefilms is a rumour... No plans are there to acquire Indusind Bank, RPG group's Saregama Ltd etc," the petition said.