10 common service centres fail to become operational in Panchkula district | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

10 common service centres fail to become operational in Panchkula district

chandigarh Updated: Jul 01, 2015 09:33 IST
Vinod Kumar
Vinod Kumar
Hindustan Times

The 10 common service centres (CSCs) started six months back to deliver government e-services to residents have failed to become operational. Reason: lack of IT infrastructure and space to run the centre’s.

According to sources, 10 banking correspondents were given the status of CSC to take the total number of such centres in the district – having a population of 5.6 lakh with 1.16 lakh households – to 33.

While two of these centres are in Sectors 11 and 16, the remaining are located in rural areas including Thane Ki Sair, Toran, Rajjipur, Shyamtoo, Kakrali, Bhoj Rajpura, Barwala and Kiratpur.

As per the guidelines, each CSC needs to be equipped with IT infrastructure, including three computers, one multi-functional printer, one point-of-sale printer, power backup system and a modem or dongle for internet connectivity. Also, the centre has to be set up in a built-up area of about 3,000 square feet for carrying out all the operations and giving an easy access to the public.

However, in the absence of space and IT infrastructure, the 10 CSCs have not started operations yet.

Ward number 20 councillor Salim Khan, who represents 20 villages, said these centres should be made functional at the earliest so that more residents could avail themselves of e-services.

Panchkula deputy commissioner Vivek Atray said the administration was working on making the CSCs operational soon.


Residents can obtain caste certificates, Aadhaar card, railway tickets, bus pass, senior citizen card, disability identity card, birth and death certificates, resident certificates, income certificate and rural area certificate besides booking open spaces and community halls for functions and paying property tax, telephone bill and water and sewerage bills at the common service centres. The administration is introducing 10 more services, including payment of electricity bill, at these centres. With the introduction of new services, the number of e-services — both business to consumer and government to consumer — offered at CSCs will reach 30.

These services will be formally launched on July 4 during the Digital India Week celebrations.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature