17 IPS promoted as IG with retrospective effect

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Aug 01, 2014 23:19 IST

The Punjab government on Friday confirmed the promotions of 17 IPS officers in the rank of inspector general of police (IG) with retrospective effect.

They included nine officers of the 1991 batch — RL Bhagat, Ishwer Chander, Jagdish Kumar, Balbir Kumar Bawa, Parampal Singh Sidhu, RP Mittal, Nirmal Singh Dhillon, Sham Lal and Kanwaljit Singh Pannu, who have been promoted in the rank of IG with effect from 2010.

Such 1994-batch officers are Naresh Kumar, Ram Singh, SS Srivastava, V Neerja and Amardeep Singh Rai, who have been promoted as IG with effect from 2012, whereas three IPS officers of 1994 — Praveen Kumar Sinha, B Chandra Sekhar and Anita Punj -- have been granted pro forma promotion in the rank of IG with effect from 2013.

also read

Councillor’s report card: Work can wait for controversy’s child Satish Kainth
Show comments