19 candidates file papers from Patiala and Talwandi Sabo

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Aug 02, 2014 23:41 IST

Ten candidates from Patiala and nine from Talwandi Sabo assembly constituencies have filed their nominations as the last day of filing these for the August 21 by-election ended on Saturday.

In a press statement, chief electoral officer (CEO) VK Singh said that in Patiala, of the total 10 candidates, five filed their nominations on Saturday. They are Harpal Juneja as covering candidate of the Shiromani Akali Dal, Preneet Kaur of the Congress, Jasbir Kaur of Bahujan Mukti Party, Ravi Kant of Hindustan Nirman Dal, and Balwinder Singh as independent candidate.

He said that earlier Bhagwan Dass Juneja of the SAD, Harjeet Singh of Aam Aadmi Party, Amrik Singh of New All India Congress Party and Rajinder Singh Pawar and Balbir Singh, both Independents, have filed nomination papers for the Patiala seat.

The CEO said that in Talwandi Sabo constituency, six candidates -- Nimrat Kaur as covering candidate of the SAD, Baljinder Kaur of Aam Aadmi Party, Balwinder Singh of Bahujan Mukti Party, Makhan Singh Premi of Punjab Labour Party and Balkar Singh and Bharpur Singh (both Independents) filed their nominations on Saturday.

Singh said Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu of the SAD; Harminder Singh Jassi and his wife Manmeet Kaur of the Congress have already filed their nomination papers from the constituency.

He said the scrutiny of nomination papers would be done on August 4, while the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is August 6. He said the voting for the by-election on both seats would be held on August 21, while the counting would be held on August 25.

also read

Councillor’s report card: Heera Negi tried, but failed to stir officials up
Show comments