21 candidates file papers for 8 Cantt Board seats

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Ambala
  • Updated: Dec 09, 2014 20:26 IST

Twenty one candidates filed the nomination papers for the eight Cantonment Board (CB) seats on Tuesday, the elections for which will be held on January 11 next month.

According to the election schedule released by the CB, Tuesday is the only day for filing the nominations.
Candidates can withdraw their nominations on December 12.

The counting will be held on January 12. According to the schedule, wards 1, 2 and 8 are reserved for women candidates and ward 7 is reserved for a candidate from the Scheduled Caste.

The Congress has fielded Bhupinder Kaur (ward no 1), Neeru Sharma (ward no 2) , Murti Devi (ward no 3), Simmi Sahani (ward no 4), Umesh Sahani Bitto (ward no 5), Virender Gandhi (ward no 6), Rajesh Kumar (ward no 7) and Joginder Kaur (ward no 8) while the Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Lakshmi Devi (ward no 1), Asima Devi (ward no 2), Ajay Baveja (ward no 3), Raju (ward no 4), Surinder Tiwari (ward no 5), Parmod Lucky (ward no 6), Garib Dass (ward no 7) and Neelam Rani (ward no 8).

Elaborate security arrangements were made at the CB office during the time of filing of the papers.

also read

Councillor’s report card: Made little change on the ground
Show comments