21-day notice to three colonies to vacate govt land

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Apr 18, 2014 23:27 IST

The administration has re-issued a three-week notice to the residents of three colonies --- Kuldeep Colony, Pandit Colony and Majdoor Colony --- in Sector 52 to vacate its land. This follows last year's efforts to get the encroachers to move failed to elicit the desired response.

The encroached upon land has been earmarked for expansion plan of the third phase of the city.

The UT estate office has said that the tenements could be razed if the deadline is not followed. There are around 500 families residing illegally in these three colonies.

The administration plans to shift the residents from the colonies to one-room flats it has constructed.

On October 5, 2013, similar notices were issued following directions from the UT administrator Shivraj Patil.

Senior officials said all the residents of the three colonies, who were found eligible, were rehabilitated in May last year except for a total of 71 families for whom the administration has made arrangements in flats constructed under the Slum Rehabilitation Scheme under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) of the Government of India.

Last year, the administration has razed Colony Number 5. Government figures showed that the Colony Number 5 had 7,035 houses followed by Colony number 4 with 5,185 houses.

The city has 13 slums with 23,974 houses and a population of more than 1.5 lakh. In 2006, the administration had floated two proposals for construction of 25,728 small flats in two phases - 6,368 in phase 1and 19360 in Phase 2. For the implementation of the scheme, the authorities had identified eight locations in different parts of the city for the construction of dwelling units. Of the total flats, over 5,000 have already been handed over to the beneficiaries, while remaining small flats at different sites are yet to be completed.

The slums are Ambedkar Colony, Gurusagar Colony, Janta Colony, Kabari Colony, Kalyan Colony, Kuldeep Colony, Colony Number 4, LBS Colony, Madrasi Colony, Majdoor Colony, Nerhu Colony, Rajiv Colony, Sanjay Colony, Maulijagran, Shahpur Colony and Pandit Colony.

The encroached upon land has been earmarked for expansion plan of the third phase of the city.

also read

HT Report Card: Nothing ventured, nothing gained
Show comments