25 more candidates file nomination | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

25 more candidates file nomination

chandigarh Updated: Sep 24, 2014 15:50 IST
HT Correspondent

As many as 25 candidates on Tuesday filed their nomination papers for the Haryana assembly elections to be held on October 15.

So far, 47 candidates have filed their nominations.

Haryana chief electoral officer Shrikant Walgad said Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) candidates Mohammad Iliyas and Javed filed their papers from Punhana, CPI (M) candidate Randhir Singh Sathi filed from Panchkula, Tek Chand from Naraingarh and Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) candidates Akram Khan and Sameen Khan filed their papers from the Jagadhari assembly seat.

Samast Bhartiya Party candidate Varun Sharma filed from the Yamunanagar seat.

Walgad said independent candidates Ranjita Devi filed her nomination from Samalkha, Maya Devi, from Kharkhoda, Rakesh Sharma from Sonipat, Parveen Malik from Baroda, Surender Singh from Jind, Ramesh Kumar, from Fatehabad and Kanchan Kumar form Sirsa.

Socialist Unity Centre of India Communist (SUCIC) party candidates Hawa Singh filed from Adampur, Lalji from Bahadurgarh, Ram Kumar from Kosli and CPI (M) candidate Shakuntla Jakhar from Nalwa, he said. Walgad said independent candidates Raj Singh filed his papers from Narnaund, Jai Bhagwan from Garhi Sampla-Kiloi, Bijender Singh from Badli, Krishan Kumar from Narnaul, Om Kumar, from Gurgaon, Rajbir Singh from Palwal and Sandeep Badhana from Badhkhal.

CPM’s Shakuntla files papers in hisar

Hisar: Shakuntla Jakhar on Tuesday filed her nomination papers as CPM (Communist Party of India-Marxist) candidate for the Hisar assembly seat. Senior CPM leader Jagmati Sangwan accompanied her. Later, talking to newsmen, Sangwan said: The pro forma for nomination is wrong technically, because it is designed for only men. The gender bias is condemnable. The election commission should remodel it to include women.”