34 teachers to be honoured with state award

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Sep 04, 2014 10:27 IST

Punjab education minister Dr Daljit Singh Cheema on Wednesday announced names of 34 teachers who will be honoured with the prestigious state award at a function in Jalandhar to mark Teachers’ Day on September 5.

The list of awardees, who would get one-year extension in their service period along with cash award of Rs 10,000 each, includes two principals — Pavinder Kaur of Government Senior Secondary School for Girls, Sultanwind, Amritsar, and Mandeep Kaur of the GSSS for Girls, Mall Road, Amritsar). Headmasters Darshan Singh and Rajinder Singh, Government Model High School, Nabha, Patiala, will also get the award along with seven lecturers, including Manisha (math, GSSS, Town Hall Mandi, Amritsar), Sukhdarshan Singh (physics, GSSS, Kalian, Patiala), Gurjant Singh (commerce, GSSS, Badal, Muktsar), Charanjit Singh (Punjabi, GSSS, Basowal, Rupnagar), Aman Sharma (English, GSSS, Sudhar, Amritsar), Parminder Kumar (English, GSSS, Mehla, Sangrur), and Gurpreet Kaur (Punjabi, GSSS, Shuman Kalan, Bathinda).

From the master cadre (high and senior secondary), the eight awardees are Abhinav Joshi (science, GSSS for Girls, Sanur, Patiala), Sukhdev Singh (science, GHS, Bhalian, Rupnagar), Mukhtiar Singh (social studies, GHS, Kamalke, Moga), Prem Kumar (SSt, GHS, Bhangal, Rupnagar), Pardeep Kumar (math, GSSS, Tamkot, Muktsar), Om Parkash (physical training instructor, GSSS, Talwandi, Gurdaspur), Varinder Singh (PTI, GHS, Ballamgarh, Sangrur) and Amritpal Singh (agriculture, GSSS, Jassi Pau Wali, Bathinda).

Among head teachers, Gurjant Singh (Government Primary School, Pannawala, Sangrur), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Government Elementary School, Buraj Hari Singh, Ludhiana), Sukhram (GPS, Bhammian Khurad, Ludhiana), Tarlochan Singh (GPS, Nagra, Ludhiana) and Ajmer Singh (GES, Thuhi, Patiala) will get the award. Of elementary teachers, Paramjit Kaur (GPS, Gambirpur-Lower, Rupnagar), and Paramjit Singh (GPS, Dangoli) are to be honoured.

Among the master/mistress cadres for middle school, the eight awardees are Gurmeet Singh (SSt, GMS, Bharu, Muktsar), Gurmeet Singh (SSt, GMS, Sirshiri, Faridkot), Paramjit Singh (art and craft, GMS, Goniana Khurad, Bathinda), Lakhmir Singh (SSt, GMS, Bhajauli, Mohali), Kashma Devi (SSt, GMS, Khamera, Rupnagar), Megh Dass (science, GMS, Bharthala, Ludhiana), Dharampal Mianavi (SSt, GMS Raheemabad Kalan, Ludhiana) and Sudagar Singh Sarabha (PTI, GMS, Giaspura, Ludhiana).

also read

Councillor’s report card: Heera Negi tried, but failed to stir officials up
Show comments