43% voters turn up for MC ward number 10 bypoll | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

43% voters turn up for MC ward number 10 bypoll

chandigarh Updated: Mar 02, 2015 12:10 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Reflecting lack of enthusiasm among residents of ward number 10, the byelections on Sunday witnessed just 43.67% turnout.

Earlier, in the MC elections held in December 2011, 60% turnout was recorded. The result will be declared on March 3. Ward number 10 comprises Sectors 41 and 42 and villages of Badheri, Attawa and Buterla, having a population of nearly 35,000 and 24000 voters respectively.

The polling began at 8am and continued till 5pm at 22 polling stations. Despite an electorate of 59,000 none of the booths saw any queue. However, rural voters visibly outnumbered their urban counterparts.

The polling booth at Shivalik Public School, Sector 41-A, had the highest number of voters at 1,477, while that at Badheri Government Model High School in Sector 41-D, had the minimum at 698.

Former union minister Pawan Kumar Bansal, Chandigarh BJP chief Sanjay Tandon and Chandigarh Congress chief Pardeep Chhabra visited several polling stations.

With heavy deployment of police, the polling went through smoothly.

The councillor’s seat has been lying vacant after the death of Akali Dal councillor Malkiat Singh in October last year. Singh had died after suffering from illness following his 10-day study tour to Port Blair, Kolkata and Chennai.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) fielded his brother Hardeep Singh in the byelections, while Congress fielded Bhupinder Singh Badheri, making it a direct contest between the two.

While, Congress loyalist Badheri contested the byelection from the same ward in 2009 and won the seat by 33 votes after defeating Malkiat Singh, he could not get the ticket in 2011. In the same year, Congress gave ticket to Jasbir Singh Bunty, who lost to Malkiat Singh by 483 votes.