A third of state’s new House does not hold any degree | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

A third of state’s new House does not hold any degree

chandigarh Updated: Oct 21, 2014 08:58 IST
Bhartesh Singh Thakur

While graduation is a minimum qualification for most government jobs, every third member of the 13th Haryana assembly does not hold that distinction.

Out of the 90 members in the house, 30 have mentioned their highest education qualification as being below graduation.

Out of these 30 legislators, nine of them have completed Class 10, and 11 have passed senior secondary.

Five of them have not even completed Class 10. Two MLAs — Prithi Singh of the INLD who won from Narwana and Independent Rahish Khan who won Punahana assembly seat — are Class-8 pass.

Sri Krishan of Congress who won from Baroda has cleared Class-9, while Makhan Lal Singla of INLD who won from Sirsa has not finished middle-school. Pataudi MLA Bimla Chaudhary of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has never been to school. In her affidavit submitted to the election commission at the time of filing her nomination, she had mentioned herself as an ‘illiterate’. Chaudhary defeated her nearest rival Ganga Ram of the Indian National Lok Dal(INLD), a matriculate, by 38,963 votes.

‘Dr’ Hari Chand Middha of the INLD who won from Jind is a matriculate, but has mentioned his profession as ‘doctor’.

On the other end of the spectrum, Raghuvir Singh Kadiyan of Congress who won from Beri is holds a doctorate, while BJP’s Abhe Singh Yadav who won from Nangal Chaudhary has a PhD in law. There are 21 law graduates in the house.

Out of the saffron party’s 47 MLAs in the new house, one is a PhD, eight are post graduates, 23 are graduates, four have qualifications below graduation, five are Class-12 pass, five are matriculates and one is an illiterate.

The Congress’ MLA share includes one doctorate, three post graduates, eight graduates, one under graduate, one Class-12 pass and one Class-9 pass.

The INLD has one post graduate, 11 graduates, three Class-12 pass, two matriculates, one Class-8 pass and one has mentioned that he is under middle.

Shiromani Akali Dal has one MLA— Balkaur Singh — who is a matriculate.

Haryana Janhit Congress supremo Kuldeep Bishnoi who won from Adampur is a graduate while his wife Renuka who is now Hansi MLA has finished school.

Bahujan Samaj Party’s Tek Chand Sharma who won from Prithla has also passed senior secondary.