AAP trumped Congress in Kharar, SAS Nagar assembly segments

  • Hillary Victor, None, SAS Nagar
  • Updated: May 18, 2014 15:55 IST

Even though SADBJP candidate from Anandpur Sahib, Prem Singh Chandumajra, defeated Congress’ Ambika Soni by more than 23,000 votes, it was the Aam Aadmi Party candidate Himmat Singh Shergill, who sprung a surprise by getting the highest number of votes in SAS Nagar and the second highest votes in Kharar. Both the segments are represented by Congress MLAs.

Shergill has received more than 50,000 votes in SAS Nagar, with SAD getting 43,000. Congress finished third here with just 35,000 votes.

In Kharar, AAP got 45,000 votes, while SAD got 50,000 votes. Congress was again third at 40,000 votes. Sources said most government employees, resentful of the ruling SAD, voted for AAP in SAS Nagar, while in Kharar, the Congress was hit by lack of development.

Congress MLA, Balbir Singh Sidhu, the second-time MLA from SAS Nagar admits, “We never thought that AAP will act as spoilsport and believed that the middle class was with the Congress. People expressed their resentment towards the state, but it hit the Congress the most.”

Congress candidate Ambika Soni said the party thought that the AAP would struggle to get less than 1 lakh votes, but the 3 lakh tally had surprised the party. AAP candidate, Himmat Singh Shergill says, “I feel like a winner as I led from three assembly segments of the constituency. People are fed up with both the Congress and SAD. The next assembly election results would be different.”

The difference between votes of Congress’ Soni and AAP was just 13,000 with Chandumajra emerging winner by 23,697 votes.

also read

Councillor’s report card: Party or oppn, Satinder Singh doesn’t mince words
Show comments