AITA Championship series: Calvin, Sabrang enter pre-quarters | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

AITA Championship series: Calvin, Sabrang enter pre-quarters

chandigarh Updated: Apr 21, 2015 14:44 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times


Top seed Calvin Golmei along with second seed Sabrang Sandal in the boys’ under-16 age group moved into the pre-quarterfinals of the AITA Championship Series (CS-7) Tennis Tournament being played at Chandigarh Lawn Tennis Association (CLTA) complex in Sector 10 on Monday.

Calvin defeated Archit Juneja 6-4, 6-4, in straight sets, while Sabrang ousted Dipin Wadhawa 6-2, 7-5.

Chandigarh Academy for Rural Tennis (CHART) trainee Naresh Badgujar, Bhupender Dahiya, Shashikant Rajput also registered straight set wins to move into the pre-quarterfinals in the boys’ under-16.

Naresh dropped just one game on his way to defeat Aalam Dhanoa 6-1, 6-0, while Shashikant Rajput outplayed Vatsal Chauhan 6-1, 6-4. Bhupender Dahiya also had an easy outing as he ended the challenge of Nishant Dabas 6-4, 6-4.

In another tough match, Dhruv Tangri defeated CHART trainee Krishan Hooda in a marathon three setter. Dhruv won 4-6, 7-6(3), 7-6(6).

Others who made it to next round in boys’ under-16 are Saurabh Prashar, Sahishnu Sharma, Sagar Sehrawat , Chiraz Singh Dhandona, Sohraab Singh , Anmol Rattan Kamboj, Shivam Vij and Ashutosh Tiwari

In the boys’ under-12, fifth seed and CHART trainee Krishan Hooda moved into pre-quarterfinals with straight set 6-0, 6-1, win over Aarush Sharma.

In a tough match, qualifier Ajay Singh defeated seventh seed Pranav Chopra of CLTA in three sets. Losing the first set 5-7, Ajay came back to win the next two 6-3, 6-4, in a match which lasted for two hours and forty five minutes.

In another three-setter match, Saideep Kilaru defeated Chetanbir Kooner 5-7, 6-3, 6-1. Top seed Dhruv Tangri and second seed Nishant Dabas also moved into pre-quarters along with Gaurav Kumar of CLTA and CHART trainee Sarabjot Singh.

Dhruv Tangri edged past Sidharth Goel 7-6(2), 6-4, while Nishant Dabas defeated Samarbir Singh Sidhu 6-1, 6-2.

Gaurav Kumar beat Arjun Kapoor 6-2, 6-2, while Sarabjot Singh blanked Sarthak Arora 6-0, 6-0. In only first round match of Girls singles under12, Mrinalini Sharma defeated Ananya Dogra 6-1, 6-0.

In the girls’ under-16, Aspreet Kaur Bajwa beat Shamitha Yadav 6-2, 6-1, while Dikshita Rana overpowered Adity Dogra 5-7, 7-5, 6-2.

Bhavya Sangri defeated Sukhmani Singh 6-0, 7-5, while Tanya Batra beat Sanya Chadha 6-2, 6-3. Harleen Kaur, Sohani Makkar, Alisha Menon, Sehajveer Bhandal , Himanshika and Simran Pritam also entered the next round.

Sehajveer Bhandal outsed Himadri Kashyap 6-4, 6-1, while Himanshika beat Princy Panchal 6-2, 6-2. Simran Pritam defeated Arti Nayan 6-3, 2-6, 6-4, in three sets.