Ambala records over 75% voter turnout | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Ambala records over 75% voter turnout

chandigarh Updated: Oct 15, 2014 22:43 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Saket Kumar

The four assembly seats here — Ambala Cantonment, City, Mullana and Naraingarh — together recorded over 75% polling.

District election officer (DEO) Saket Kumar said the polling was peaceful with no untoward incidents reported from any assembly segment.

With 80% voter turnout, Naraingarh was the highest among the four assembly segments, followed by Mullana with 79.4%. City witnessed 69.8% and Cantonment recorded 68.7% voters, the DEO said.
The figures may rise after final calculations, he said.

In Cantonment, BJP’s Anil Vij locked horns with Congress’ Nirmal Singh. Both are four-time MLAs and the INLD fielded new entrant Suraj Jindal.

In City, Haryana Jan Chetna Party (HJC) chief Venod Sharma fought against Akali Dal’s Balvinder Punia, Congress youth wing leader Himmat Singh and BJP’s Aseem Goyal.

In Mullana, the contest was four-cornered where former Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee president Phool Chand Mullana’s son Varun Chaudhary, sitting INLD MLA Rajbir Barara and Santosh Sarwan of BJP and BSP’s Karnail Singh fought it out.

In Naraingarh, five contenders — two-time Congress MLA Ram Krishan Gujjar, BJP district president Nayab Singh Saini, Bhoom Singh Rana of HJC, INLD’s Jagmal and BSP’s Ram Singh Kodwa — were pitted against each other.

The total number of voters in the four assembly segments was over 7.65 lakh. As many as 41 candidates were in the fray and 801 polling booths were set up. 3,362 government employees were deputed for election duty.

Cantonment has 1.74 lakh registered voters. City has 2.28 lakh voters while in Naraingarh and Mullana, the electorate consists of 1.68 lakh and 1.94 lakh voters, respectively.