Approx 66 % voting in Himachal Pradesh | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Approx 66 % voting in Himachal Pradesh

chandigarh Updated: May 07, 2014 21:42 IST
Hindustan Times
Lok Sabha polls

Approx 65.06 % polling in Himachal Pradesh

62.25 % voter turnout in Himachal till 5 pm

54.80 % polling in HP till 3 pm

45.54 % polling in Himachal till 1pm

District wise break up till 1pm

Chamba 44.81%

Kangra 43.66%

Lahul and spiti 40. 64%

Kullu 43. 76%

Mandi 44.16%

Hamirpur 50.12%

Una 52.73%

Bilaspur 45.79%

Solan 47.11%

Sirmaur 49.26%

Shimla 41.97%

Kinnaur 50.43%

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal after casting his vote in Himachal

Shanta Kumar showing his inked finger at polling booth.

AAP candidate from Hamirpur Kamal Kanta Batra going to cast vote at Palampur

32% in polling in Himachal till 11 am

District wise break up till 11am

Chamba 29.07%

Kangra 30. 23%

Lahaul and Spiti 26.30%

Kullu 30.01%

Mandi 31. 52%

Hamirpur 34.85%

Una 36. 53%

Bilaspur 31.49%

Solan 32. 94%

Sirmaur 33%

Shimla 29.69%

Kinnaur 35. 51%

16.15 % polling in Himachal till 10am

District wise break up till 10 am

Shimla 15.15%

Kinnaur 16.84%

Chamba 15.69%

Lahaul and spiti 12.09%

Kullu 16%

Hamirpur 17.34%

Mandi 17.04%

Una 17.51%

Bilaspur 16.34%

Solan 16.52%

Sirmaur 17.19%

Kangra 15.90%

Himachal minister Vidya Stokes showing her inked finger after casting her vote

Independent India's first voter Shyam Saran Negi casts his vote at Kalpa in Kinnaur district (Mandi Parliamentary seat). Election Commission honours him.

15 % voting in Mandi till 8.30 am.

20% voting in Hamirpur till 9am.

15 % voting in Shimla till 8.30 am.

EVMs replaced at Jubbal in Shimla district and in some polling booths in Mandi District.

Virbhadra Singh posts this picture after casting vote at Rampur Bushahr in Himachal.

Polling begins in four Lok Sabha contituencies at 7 a.m.

All arrangements in place for voting in HP

The stage is set for eighth phase elections to four Lok Sabha seats in Himachal Pradesh which will decide the fate of 38 candidates, including former Chief Minister Shanta Kumar and BJP's Anurag Thakur on Tuesday.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for tomorrow's polling and over 10,000 police personnel and 7400 home guards will be deployed across the state to ensure free, fair and peaceful voting.

Polling parties have reached booths along with election material, state Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan said.

Inter-state borders have been sealed to check entry of anti-social elements, officials said.

The one-month-long no-holds-barred electioneering, which drew to close last evening, witnessed Congress and BJP leaders trading charges and hurling personal allegations.

Nearly 48,10,071 voters (24, 77,430 male and 23, 35,641 female), including 84,461 first-timers, are likely to exercise their franchise.

Today's voting will seal the fate of 38 candidates, including all four sitting Lok Sabha members and Shanta Kumar, in Electronic Voting Machines.

The Congress, BJP, Aam Admi Party and BSP have fielded candidates in all the four seats while the CPI-M is contesting only two seats.

Twelve candidates are in the fray in Kangra Lok Sabha constituency, 10 in Hamirpur, nine in Mandi and seven in Shimla (Reserve) constituencies.

Voting for Sujanpur assembly bypoll will also be held today.