Asav, Preena walk away with gold

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: Jul 04, 2014 12:18 IST

Asav Kumar and Preena Kaur Dhaliwal were crowned winners in their respective categories of the 50m Breaststroke event, organised for under-12 swimmers, during the second day of the subjunior and junior swimming competitions at the all-weather swimming pool, Sector 23, in Chandigarh on Thursday.

The event is being organised by the UT sports department.

In the boys’ category, Asav walked away with the top honour after crossing the finish line in 42:23 seconds. The second place was claimed by Sandeep Singh Dhillon with the timing of 46:34 seconds, while Dhruv clocked 47:09 seconds to finish at the third place.

In the girls’ event, Preena (43:46 seconds) managed to pip Thwisha Gupta (44:17 seconds) for the first-place finish. Tishya Kapur took the third spot on the podium after clocking 48:60 seconds.

In the other boys’ events, Mukesh Trar won the gold in the 200m Freestyle event for under-17 participants. Trar clocked 2:11:57 seconds to grab the top honour. He was followed by Jaskaran Toor (2:12:69 seconds) in the second place, while Ranjot Singh (2:20:54) had to remain content with the third spot.

In the 50m Freestyle event for under-10 boys, Rishi Nayyar won the gold with the timing of 37.06 seconds. With 39.35 seconds, Akshaj finished at the second spot, while Rayaan Grewal finished third after clocking 39.59 seconds. In the 100m Breaststroke for the under-17, Ranjot clocked 1.21.81 seconds to grab the top spot. Ashraf was second with the timing of 1.22.34 seconds, while Gaurav Sharma claimed the third place after clocking 1.28.17 seconds.

In the remaining events of the girls’ section, Tista Tewani won the gold in the 25m Backstroke, for the under-8 participants, after clocking 29:13 seconds. She was followed by Kaavya Nayyar (29:76 seconds) in the second place, while Nandini Singh clocked 33:57 seconds to finish third.

In the 50m Backstroke event for under-10 girls, Manasvini Dwivedi won the top honours with 57:00 seconds. She was followed by Saanya Chabra (1:07:50 seconds) at the second place, while Preesha Kaur (1:13:42 seconds) grabbed the third spot. In the 50m Freestyle event for the corresponding agegroup section, Manasvini won her second gold of the day after clocking 44.40 seconds. She was followed by Samaira Guleria (47.51 seconds) at the second spot, while Saanya Chabra (48.03 seconds) was third.

In the 50m Freestyle for under-8 girls, Tista Tewani clocked 46.73 seconds for the topplace finish. Nandini Singh was second with 52.26 seconds, while Kaavya Nayyar finished the race with the timing of 55.08 seconds for the third spot.

also read

Councillor’s report card: Party or oppn, Satinder Singh doesn’t mince words
Show comments