Badal forms committee to mark 350th year of Anandpur Sahib | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Badal forms committee to mark 350th year of Anandpur Sahib

chandigarh Updated: Jun 03, 2015 16:20 IST

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal today constituted an apex committee for the implementation of decisions taken by the organising committee to commemorate 350th Foundation Day of Sri Anandpur Sahib from June 17 to June 19.

The committee includes the Chief Secretary, Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister and Principal Secretary to Deputy Chief Minister, an official release said here.

The apex committee has been mandated to further constitute 15-20 sub-committees under its direct supervision for the execution of decisions taken in the various meetings of organising committee under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Badal, an official spokesperson said.

Presiding over a meeting, the CM directed the Chief Secretary to ensure the commemoration of 350th year of Sri Anandpur Sahib — the city of bliss, in a befitting manner to showcase the glorious legacy of Sikh Panth not only at the national but across the globe.

He also asked the Principal Secretary for Cultural Affairs to ensure timely invitations to dignitaries and the eminent religious personalities.

Badal said that responding to his personal request, the Prime Minister Narendra Modi accepted his invitation to participate at the gala event on June 19.

The Chief Minister also reviewed the progress of arrangements for the celebrations on basis of inputs received from concerned officers and SGPC officials.

The organising committee is led by Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal, while other members include Sukhbir Singh Badal, BJP state unit President Kamal Sharma, Leader of Opposition in Punjab Vidhan Sabha Sunil Jakhar, Speaker Punjab Vidhan Sabha Charanjit Singh Atwal, among others.

Prominent among those present in the meeting today included Cabinet Ministers Sohan Singh Thandal, Daljeet Singh Cheema and Madan Mohan Mittal, Lok Sabha MP Prem Singh Chandumajra, Rajya Sabha Member Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, President SGPC Avtar Singh.