Bal Bhavan crowned champions | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bal Bhavan crowned champions

chandigarh Updated: Nov 28, 2014 14:14 IST
HT Correspondent

Bal Bhavan School, Dwarka (New Delhi), defeated hosts Satluj Public School by five wickets to lift the title in the 10th Satluj Premier League under-15 cricket tournament played at Sector 4 in Panchkula on Thursday.

Batting first proved to be a disastrous decision for the home side, as the entire team was bundled out for 110 in 28.4 overs. Only Eshan Sharan and Aditya Pratap Singh managed to reach double figures for the Satluj team, scoring 25 and 22 runs, respectively.

For Bal Bhavan, Akhilesh was the pick of the bowlers. He took three wickets for seven runs. Yash Sehrawat also took three wickets fro 20 runs. Nitil snared two wickets for 18 runs.

Chasing the target, Bal Bhavan had a shaky start and, at one time, they were reeling at 25 for 3. But Aman and Akashdeep combined well to guide the team home. Aman was the top-scorer with 29 runs, while Akashdeep scored 27 runs.

Akhilesh of Delhi outfit was adjudged man of the match, while Aman, also of the Delhi team was adjudged man of the series. The two other Delhi team players, Yash Sehrawat and Akashdeep Singh, walked away with best bowler and best batsman awards, respectively. Aditya Pratap Singh of the host school was adjudged best wicketkeeper, while Suraj Malik was adjudged best fielder. Anish Dalal, Sahil Vashisht, Suraj Malik, Akash Chamoli (all of Satluj School) were adjudged the best upcoming players.

Brief scores: Satluj Public School: 110 all out in 28.4 overs (Shan Sharan 25, Aditya Pratap Singh 22, Akhilesh 3 for 7, Yash Sehrawat 3 for 20, Nitil 2 for 18); Bal Bhavan School: 115 for 5 in 21.3 overs (Aman Jainwal 29no, Akashdeep Singh 27no, Sahil Vashisht 2 for 19, Hardik Choudhary 2 for 21).