Barring Capt, MLAs fail test

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Chandigarh
  • Updated: May 16, 2014 23:49 IST

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Congress had fielded five legislators in all to increase their chances of sending maximum candidates to the Lok Sabha but the strategy failed, except in the case of Captain Amarinder Singh, who will vacate Patiala assembly seat to go into Parliament as Amritsar MP.

Along with Patiala, there will be bypoll also in the assembly constituencies of Taklwandi Sabo and Dhuri, where legislators Jeetmohinder Sidhu and Arvind Khanna have resigned. Two other Congress hopes, state leader of opposition Sunil Jakhar from Abohar and Joginder Singh Panjgarain from Jaito lost the Lok Sabha test.

SAD's Pawan Kumar Tinu (Adampur-SC) and Manpreet Singh Ayali (Dakha); and independent nominee Simarjit Singh Bains (Ludhiana west) also lost. Tinu lost in Jalandhar (SC), while Ayali and Bains trailed in Ludhiana behind Ravneet Bittu of the Congress and HS Phoolka of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

also read

AAP surge weakens Modi wave in Punjab
Show comments