Barring few incidents of violence, polling peaceful in Faridabad district | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Barring few incidents of violence, polling peaceful in Faridabad district

chandigarh Updated: Oct 15, 2014 21:07 IST

Barring a few incidents of violence, polling in nine assembly segments of Faridabad Lok Sabha seat passed of peacefully with Faridabad district recording the lowest poll percentage in entire Haryana state.

As supporters of political parties clashed at different places, police had to fire in air at Nangaljat, Alimev and Hathin. Incident of stone pelting was reported in Narayankhurd in Hathin area of Palwal district.

Similarly, two groups belonging to Indian National Lok Dal and Independent candidate clashed at Nangla Gujran area in NIT assembly segment, Faridabad, resulting in injury to a supporter of Independent candidate Shiv Charan Sharma.

Senior police and civil officers, including Faridabad DC Vijay Dahiya, NIT DCP Phool Kumar rushed to the area. Both sides were accusing each other of malpractices in polling, the charge the officials denied.

In Bhadkal village of Bhadkal assembly constituency, voter turnout was much higher during the whole day. Out of 1,593 voters, one booth registered 183 votes up to 9 am. Similarly, out of 1,162 votes in one booth at Tigaon, 485 voters were polled till 11.30 am. In Ballabgarh, 44 number booth registered 554 votes out of 1278 votes till 12.25 pm. In polling booth number 46A in NIT, out of 960 votes, 617 were polled till 3.45 pm.

Despite rains in district Palwal, polling percentage was much higher at around 79%, where as six assembly segments of Faridabad district recorded just 62 percent, the lowest in entire Haryana state.

The voters, have sealed fate of many heavy weights like Mahinder Pratap Singh, Raghuvir Tewatia, Karan Dalal, Jaleb Khan of Congress, Rajesh Nagar, Seema Trikha, Vipul Goel of BJP, Rajinder Bainsla, Dharamveer Bhadana, Teckchand Sharma of BSP and Shiv Charan Sharma, an Independent candidate and sitting minister in Hooda government.

At some places like Bhadkal, Tigaon and Faridabad, the fight was between BJP and Congress where as at NIT, the fight was between INLD and Independent Shiv Charan Sharma, whereas in Ballabgarh, Palwal and Prithla, it’s a triangular contest between BJP, Congress and INLD.