BJP dominates north-south, INLD in Bagri | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP dominates north-south, INLD in Bagri

chandigarh Updated: Oct 20, 2014 13:36 IST
Hitender Rao
Hitender Rao
Hindustan Times

The BJP swept the north and the south, the INLD held its own in the Bagri belt (Sirsa, Fatehabad etc,) and the Congress underlined its sway in the Deswali belt ( Rohtak, Sonepat and Jhajjar). That’s how the outcome of the 2014 assembly polls which saw the BJP getting an absolute majority can be read in terms of region-wise performance of the three major political parties in the state


Wins 21 of 23 in six northern districts
The BJP did extremely well in the northern and southern Haryana, sweeping these areas. The saffron party candidates registered wins in 21 seats of the 23 in the six northern districts of Panchkula, Ambala, Yamunanagar, Kurukshetra, Karnal and Panipat.

All 11 in Ahirwal
In south Haryana, better known as Ahirwal, the saffron party won all the 11 seats falling in Gurgaon, Rewari and Mahendergarh districts. The party in fact won a seat or two in every district of Haryana except Sirsa, the Muslim dominated Mewat district and Palwal district.


Retains supremacy in Bagri belt
Om Prakash Chautala’s Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) which finished second in the overall tally of seats maintained its supremacy in the Bagri belt. The INLD won all the five seats ---- Dabwali, Ellenabad, Rania, Sirsa and Kalanwali (in alliance with the BJP) in Sirsa district. It also won Fatehabad and Ratia in Fatehabad district, but also Tohana to the BJP. It did well by winning three —Julana, Jind and Narwana— of the five seats in Jind district. The party won three – Uklana, Barwala and Nalwa- out of seven seats of Hisar district and two – Loharu and Dadri- out of six in Bhiwani district.

The INLD is the only party to have seats in Mewat districts where it won Nuh and Ferozepur Jhirka. The third seat, Punhana was won by an Independent.


10 of 15 fromDeswali belt
The Congress won 10 seats out of its tally of 15 from the Deswali belt of Rohtak, Jhajjar and Sonepat, primarily due to the influence of chief minister, Bhupinder Singh Hooda. The party won Meham, Garhi-Sampla Kiloi, Kalanaur seats in Rohtak district, Ganaur, Rai, Kharkhauda, Gohana and Baroda in Sonepat district and Jhajjar and Beri seats in Jhajjar. Its remaining five seats came in bits and pieces- two in Palwal district (Hodal and Palwal), one each in Faridabad district (Tigaon), Kaithal district (Kaithal) and Bhiwani (Tosham ).

HJC limited to Hisar

Kuldeep Bishnoi’s Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) which could win just two seats – Adampur and Hansi- now increasingly looks a party which has a rather limited influence in Hisar district only.