BJP’s Anil Vij wins from Ambala Cantt | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP’s Anil Vij wins from Ambala Cantt

chandigarh Updated: Oct 19, 2014 12:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Anil Vij won from Ambala Cantt assembly segment, defeating his nearest rival Nirmal Singh of Indian National Congress by 15,462, while Geeta Bhukkal of Congress beat Sadhu Ram of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) by over 26,000 votes in Jhajjar.

Meanwhile, PWD minister Randeep Singh Surjewala is leading over Surinder Singh of BJP, while Public health minister Kiran Chaudhary leads in Tosham. Technical education minister Mahender Pratap Singh trails in Badhkal.

Irrigation minister Captain Ajay Singh Yadav trails in Rewari assembly segment.

Meanwhile, after a decade-long Congress rule in Haryana, the state may see a change of guard as most exit polls have predicted BJP coming to power for the first time on its own.

Even in the previous assembly poll five years ago, Congress had fallen short of majority with only 40 seats in the 90-member House (as against 46 seats required for simple majority). Om Parkash Chautala-led INLD finished second with 31 seats.

The remaining 29 seats were shared by Haryana Janhit Congress-BL six, BJP four, SAD and BSP one each and Independents seven.

But Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda managed to form the government after five Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) MLAs deserted their party and merged with Congress which also got the support of seven Independents and a lone BSP member.

Exit polls have predicted between 37 and 52 seats for BJP, 23-29 seats for INLD and between 10 and 15 seats for Congress and rest for the others including the Kuldeep Bishnoi led HJC-BL.