BJP’s clean sweep in Ambala replaces 8 sitting MLAs | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP’s clean sweep in Ambala replaces 8 sitting MLAs

chandigarh Updated: Oct 20, 2014 21:40 IST
Dev Sarup Mathur

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates have won in all the nine assembly segments of the Ambala parliamentary seat in the recently-concluded assembly elections, replacing eight sitting MLAs.

Anil Vij who contested from Ambala Cantt is the only legislator from Ambala who has been re-elected. Both in the 2009 assembly polls and this time, he defeated Congress’ Nirmal Singh. In 2009, Vij was the only BJP face from the region and was made leader of BJP group in the outgoing assembly.

Ambala saw a repeat of the recent Lok Sabha elections when Rattan Lal Kataria registered a huge win with a margin of over 3.5 lakh votes from the parliamentary seat.

BJP candidates Latika Sharma (Kalka), Gian Chand Gupta (Panchkula), Naib Singh Saini (Naraingarh), Anil Vij (Ambala Cantt), Aseem Goyal (Ambala City), Santosh Sarwan (Mullana), Balwant Singh (Sadhora), Kanwar Pal (Jagadhri) and Ghanshyam Dass (Yamuna Nagar) were elected.

They defeated sitting MLAs Pardeep Chaudhary (INLD), D.K. Bansal ( Congress ), Ram Krishan Gujjar ( Congress), Rajbir Barara (INLD), Raj Pal ( Congress), Venod Sharma (Jan Chetna Party ), Dilbagh Singh ( INLD) and Akram Khan (BSP) from Kalka , Panchkula, Naraingarh, Mullana , Sadhura, Ambala City, Yamuna Nagar and Jagadhri respectively.

BJP won its first ever election in Naraingarh and the victory margin of its legislator from there — Saini — has been the biggest compared to previous elections there.

Locals complained that Congress leadership was indifferent to the region during the elections. No national leaders from the party – Sonia Gandhi or Rahul Gandhi — campaigned in the parliamentary constituency, they said.

Kumari Selja, who was a union minister for ten years and was twice elected from here in 2004 and 2009, also campaigned half-heartedly, they said.

Meanwhile, a galaxy of BJP leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah, home minister Rajnath Singh, MPs Vinod Khanna and Hema Malini descended here.