BJP sweeps Lok Sabha polls in HP, wrests Sujanpur Assembly seat | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP sweeps Lok Sabha polls in HP, wrests Sujanpur Assembly seat

chandigarh Updated: May 16, 2014 23:04 IST

The BJP on Friday made a clean sweep in Himachal winning all the four Lok Sabha seats with a massive margin, besides wresting the Sujanpur Assembly seat where by-election was held simultaneously.

Former Himachal Chief Minister Shanta Kumar defeated Congress' Chander Kumar by 1,70,072 votes to recorded his fourth win from the Kangra constituency. He polled 4,56,163 votes in comparison to Chander Kumar's 2,86,091 votes.

Read More: Live: BJP Hamirpur candidate Anurag Thakur wins by 98403 votes

The Congress received a major jolt in Mandi seat where BJP's greenhorn Ram Swaroop Sharma defeated the sitting Congress MP and wife of chief minister Pratibha Singh by 39856 votes whereas CPI(M) candidate Kushal Thakur polled 13965 votes.

BJP candidate Anurag Thakur, son of former chief minister P.K.Dhumal retained the Hamirpur seat defeating his nearest rival Rajinder Singh Rana by 98330 votes while Kamal Kanta Batra, mother of Kargil martyr who contested as AAP candidate polled only 15,316 votes.

Virender Kashyap(BJP) retained the Shimla(Reserve) Parliamentary seat, defeating Mohan Lal Brakata of Congress, a sitting MLA from Rohroo by 84198 votes while AAP candidate Subhash Chander and CPI (M) candidate Jagat Ram polled 14,213 and 11,424 votes.

The Congress, which had won 36 out of 68 Assembly seats in 2012 polls, could get a lead only in eight segments while BJP got lead in 60 constituencies.

The BJP improved its vote share to 54.3 per cent while Congress polled 40.7 per cent votes followed by AAP (2.1 per cent) and CPI(M) 0.8 per cent.

As many as 29,032 (0.9 per cent) voters opted for NOTA.

In 2012, BJP had lost power to Congress in the state after losing the assembly elections.