BJP wins Gurgaon seat by huge margin of over 84,000 votes

  • PTI, Gurgaon
  • Updated: Oct 19, 2014 19:20 IST

BJP candidate from Gurgaon Umesh Aggarwal on Sunday won the assembly election with a record margin of 84,095 votes.

Out of total 1,89,965 votes polled, Aggarwal secured 1,06,106 votes while his nearest rival Gopi Chand Gehlot of Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) got only 22,011 votes.

Congress candidate Dharamvir Gauba stood third with only 19,094 votes. Sitting MLA Sukhbir Kataria got just 15,755 votes, while Independent candidate Gaje Singh Kablana bagged 15,082 votes.

Sukhbir Kataria was sitting Haryana Sports and Youth Affairs Minister, while former MLA Dharambir Gauba had also occupied ministerial position in Haryana and Gopi Chand Gehlot was Deputy Speaker in Haryana Vidhan Sabha during 2000-05 in INLD's tenure.

Giving Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah the credit for his victory, Aggarwal said, "I also owe to my supporters and workers who had registered a historical victory for BJP." To a question whether he would be a minister in the BJP government, Aggarwal said it would be the prerogative of the BJP Chief Minister to decide who will be a minister or not.

also read

Haryana: Cong’s Jai Tirath wins Rai assembly seat by 3 votes
Show comments