BJP wins in 7 of 8 CB wards | chandigarh | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP wins in 7 of 8 CB wards

chandigarh Updated: Jan 12, 2015 21:52 IST
HT Correspondent

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates have swept the Cantonment Board (CB) election here by winning seven out of eight wards in the board.

The CB elections were held on January 11 and the counting was held on Monday at CB office amid tight security.

BJP candidates defeated all Congress candidates in one-sided contests while Virender Kumar Gandhi from Ward no 6 was the lone congress winner.

Gandhi was vice-president in the outgoing house.

The winning BJP candidates were Luxmi Devi (ward no. 1), Assema (ward no. 2), Ajay Baweja (ward no. 3) Raju Bali (ward no. 4), Surinder Tiwari (ward no. 5), Garib Dass (ward no. 7) and Neelam Rani (ward no. 8).

Locals said that it was first time that BJP has registered such a big win in the elections.
Hailing the party victory, health minister Anil Vij said that the people have rejected the Congress first during parliament elections, then in the assembly and now in the local body.

Addressing the large number of jubilant party workers, Vij said that during last ten years the Cantonment was neglected in development and now the time has come when the area would see all round development.

Vij urged the party workers to work sincerely for the people adding that the era of corruption has ended.